Oklahoma: Senate Committee to Hear NRA-Supported Senate Bill 934 Tomorrow

Posted on February 20, 2013

Print
Email
Share

Tomorrow, the Oklahoma Senate Public Safety Committee will hear Senate Bill 934, sponsored by Senator Anthony Sykes (D-24).  This NRA-backed legislation will make meaningful improvements to Oklahoma’s gun laws.  The bill will strike down existing barriers in state law and provide an opportunity for youth under the age of 18 to participate in Oklahoma’s rich heritage of hunting and shooting sports whether it be with a shotgun, rifle or pistol. 

Senate Bill 934 removes the current restriction in Oklahoma Statute which allows only a parent of a minor to give their child a rifle or a shotgun, and expands this allowance to include legal guardians or persons acting with the permission of the parent or legal guardian to supervise a youth in any hunting or shooting sport that involves a rifle, pistol, or shotgun.  This bill would encourage youth to learn firearm safety and allow them to participate in the responsible recreational activities provided by shooting sports and events such as education and training, target shooting, hunting, sporting events and competitions.

With the number of hunters decreasing annually, SB 934 would remove barriers and allow young upcoming hunters to discover a love for this American heritage.  Firearm training and hunting at a young age inspires responsibility, maturity and a greater appreciation of the environment.  Further, this legislation contains provisions for certain violations and penalties to ensure responsible actions.

Please contact members of the Senate Public Safety Committee TODAY and urge them to support SB 934.

Senate Public Safety Committee:

 

Senator Don Barrington – Chairman

405.521.5563
barrington@oksenate.gov


Senator Kim David - Vice Chairman

(405) 521-5590
david@oksenate.gov


Senator Roger Ballenger

(405) 521-5588
ballenger@oksenate.gov 


Senator Larry Boggs

(405) 521-5604 
boggs@oksenate.gov 


Senator Josh Brecheen

(405) 521-5586
brecheen@oksenate.gov

 

Senator David Holt

(405) 521-5636
holt@oksenate.gov 

 

Senator Al McAffrey

(405) 521-5610
mcaffrey@oksenate.gov

 

Senator Wayne Shaw

(405) 521-5574
shaw@oksenate.gov


Senator Ralph Shortey

(405) 521-5557
shortey@oksenate.gov

Print
Email
Share