New Mexico: House Bill 77 Stalls In House Committee For Now!

Posted on January 29, 2013

Print
Email
Share

Keep Calling and E-mailing Committee Members in Opposition to this Measure 

Last night, due to an 8-8 tie vote, the House Judiciary Committee failed to advance House Bill 77, state Representative Miguel Garcia's sweeping gun control bill to end almost all private firearm transfers in New Mexico.  This fight is far from over because supporters of HB 77 are continuing to work on amending the bill in an attempt to move it forward as soon as possible!  Please thank the eight committee members who stood with law-abiding gun owners and sportsmen and politely register your displeasure with those who did not.

Second Amendment stalwarts, state Representatives Nate Gentry (R-ABQ) & Bill Rehm (R-ABQ), took the lead in pointing out dozens of serious technical and policy flaws in this shoddily-drafted bill by Rep. Miguel Garcia (D-ABQ) and a hastily-drawn up amendment offered by Rep.Brian Egolf (D-Santa Fe).  One of the most glaring of these errors is that the amended bill would allow certain family members to transfer a firearm to a minor child without a background check - but require a background check on a firearm transfer to an adult son, daughter, nephew, niece or grandchild!  Other problematic language may effectively prevent the state Department of Public Safety from conducting the very background checks the bill purports to require.  Committee Chairman Gail Chasey (D-ABQ) and most of her fellow Democrats on this committee chose to ignore these important issues and force a vote on the measure regardless.  Representative Eliseo Lee Alcon (D-Milan) was the lone committee Democrat to vote against a "do pass" recommendation.  (Note: the requirement that DPS maintain a registry of lawful gun buyers has been removed, a point to remember when communicating with state legislators on the bill.)

Thank you to the hundreds of NRA and New Mexico Shooting Sports Association members and industry supporters (including representatives of Calibers and Ron Peterson Firearms in Albuquerque) who made the trip to Santa Fe for this important committee hearing.  Although testimony was limited to an hour each for both opponents and proponents -- another indication of just how fast gun control advocates want to ram this measure through -- those who were able to speak against the bill did a terrific job.

How members of the House Judiciary Committee voted on HB 77 is indicated below.  Please thank those who stood with law-abiding gun owners and sportsmen by voting NO, and politely register your displeasure with those who did not and voted YES.

It is also critical that you contact members of the House Appropriations Committee (contact information provided below), the next group that will consider this bill, and urge them to OPPOSE HB 77.  The start-up cost for HB 77 is estimated to be nearly $1 million.  And on top of that, lawful gun buyers and sellers will be hit with a $25-$35 fee (gun tax) under the bill for each background check.  Tell committee members that if this is such a compelling public safety measure, then the state should absorb the entire cost of implementing and maintaining it. For more information from NRA-ILA on restrictions on private transfers, please click here.

To determine your state lawmaker and obtain their contact information, click here.

House Judiciary Committee Votes:

 

YES -- Rep. Gail Chasey, Chairman (D-ABQ)

505-986-4412

gail@gailchasey.com

 

YES -- Rep. Georgene Louis, Vice-Chairman (D-ABQ)

505-986-4464

georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

 

NO -- Rep. Eliseo Lee Alcon (D-Milan)

505-986-4844

eliseoalcon@msn.com

 

NO -- Rep. Cathrynn Brown (R-Carlsbad)

505-986-4248

cath@cathrynnbrown.com

 

NO -- Rep. Zach Cook (R-Ruidoso)

505-986-4452

zachjcook@gmail.com

 

YES -- Rep. Brian Egolf (D-Santa Fe)

505-986-4423

brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov

 

NO -- Rep. Kelly Fajardo (R-Belen)

505-986-4220

kelly@kellyfajardo.com

 

YES -- Rep. Miguel Garcia (D-ABQ *sponsor of the measure*)

505-986-4327

miguel.garcia@nmlegis.gov

 

NO -- Rep. Nate Gentry (R-ABQ)

505-986-4757

natefornm@gmail.com

 

YES -- Rep. Emily Kane (D-ABQ)

505-986-4464

emilykane4nm@gmail.com

 

YES -- Rep. Moe Maestas (D-ABQ)

505-986-4774

rep16@moejustice.com

 

NO -- Rep. Terry McMillan (R-Las Cruces)

505-986-4450

docmcmillan@gmail.com

 

NO -- Rep. Paul Pacheco (R-ABQ)

505-986-4214

No email available

 

NO -- Rep. Bill Rehm (R-ABQ)

505-986-4214

bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

 

YES -- Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D-ABQ)

505-986-4243

pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov

 

YES -- Rep. Mimi Stewart (D-ABQ)

505-986-4842

mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

 

 

House Appropriations Committee Contact Information:

 

Rep. Henry "Kiki" Saavedra, Chairman (D-ABQ)

505-986-4316

No e-mail available

 

Rep. Paul Bandy (R-Aztec)

505-986-4211

paul@paulbandy.org

 

Rep. Sharon Clahchischilliage (R-Kirtland)

505-986-4211

No e-mail available

 

Rep. Doreen Gallegos (D-Las Cruces0

505-986-4436

doreen.gallegos@nmlegis.gov

 

Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard (D-Los Alamos)

505-986-4436

stephanie.garciarichard@nmlegis.gov

 

Rep. William Gray (R-Artesia)

505-986-4226

wjgray@pvtnetworks.net

 

Rep. Jimmie Hall (R-ABQ)

505-986-4215

jimmie.hall@nmlegis.gov

 

Rep. Larry Larranaga (R-ABQ)

505-986-4215

larry@larranaga.com

 

Rep. Patricia Lundstrom (D-Gallup)

505-986-4432

patricia.lundstrom@nmlegis.gov

 

Rep. Rodolpho "Rudy" Martinez (D-Bayard)

505-986-4235

rodolpho.martinez@nmlegis.gov

 

Rep. Nick Salazar (D-Ohkay Owingeh)

505-986-4433

No e-mail available

 

Rep. Tomas Salazar (D-Las Vegas)

505-986-4435

tomas.salazar@nmlegis.gov

 

Rep. Jim Smith  (R-Sandia Park)

505-986-4467

jim@jimsmithnm.com

 

Rep. Elizabeth Thomson (D-ABQ)

505-986-4255

liz.thomson@nmlegis.gov

 

Rep. Don Tripp (R-Socorro)

505-986-4220

trippsdon@netscape.net

 

Rep. Christine Trujillo (D-ABQ)

505-986-4255

christine.trujillo@nmlegis.gov

 

Rep. Luciano "Lucky" Varela (D-Santa Fe)

505-986-4320

lucky4st@msn.com

 

Rep. James White (R-ABQ)

505-986-4451

james.white@nmlegis.gov

Print
Email
Share