Mississippi: House Judiciary Committee Approves Important Right To Carry Legislation

Posted on January 25, 2013

Print
Email
Share

Yesterday, the Mississippi House Judiciary Committee approved legislation that will make important changes to correct vague and problematic language in Mississippi’s firearm carry laws.  House Bill 2, introduced by state Representative Andy Gipson (R-Brandon) addresses a recent opinion by state Attorney General Jim Hood (D) that has caused additional confusion and concern among carry permit holders and Second Amendment advocates.  This bill is now eligible for a vote in the full House of Representatives, so please contact your state Representative today and encourage his or her support of this positive improvement to Mississippi law!

If passed and enacted, House Bill 2 would help to eliminate the confusion by striking the phrase “in whole or in part” after the word “concealed” where it appears in Section 97-37-1 of Mississippi law prohibiting the carrying of certain firearms or other deadly weapons.  It would also more clearly define the term “concealed” for carry permit holders and non-permittees.  For more information on the proposed reforms in the Magnolia State, click here.

State Senator Giles Ward (R-Louisville) has also introduced a companion bill to HB 2, Senate Bill 2212, which has been referred to the Senate Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Committee.  This NRA-backed legislation would accomplish the same goals as HB 2.

Although a date has not been scheduled for a vote, please begin contacting your state Representative and urge him or her to support HB 2 and to oppose any amendments not acceptable to the bill sponsor.  Also, please contact members of the Senate Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Committee and urge them to support SB 2212.

 

 

Senate Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Committee Members:

 

Senator Giles Ward – Chairman

Phone: (601) 359-3250

gkward@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Angela Burks Hill – Vice Chairman

Phone: (601) 359-3226

ahill@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Gary Jackson

Phone: (601) 359-3234

gjackson@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Sampson Jackson II

Phone: (601) 359-2886

sjackson@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Chris Massey

Phone: (601) 359-2886

cmassey@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Chris McDaniel

Phone: (601) 359-2395

cmcdaniel@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Philip Moran

Phone: (601) 359-3252

pmoran@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Derrick T. Simmons

Phone: (601) 359-3221

dsimmons@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Bill Stone

Phone: (601) 359-3221S

bstone@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Gary Tollison

Phone: (601) 359-3244

gtollison@senate.ms.gov

 

Senator Michael Watson

Phone: (601) 359-2395

mwatson@senate.ms.gov

Print
Email
Share