Kansas Senate Committee to Hold Hearing on Concealed Carry Recognition Reform Legislation

Posted on March 7, 2012

Print
Email
Share

The state Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs will hold a hearing tomorrow on Senate Bill 454. This legislation, among other technical corrections, would provide universal recognition to concealed carry permit holders and standardize the concealed carry permit process for new residents who hold a valid concealed carry permit/license in their originating state.

SB 454 is a substantial right to carry reform which would make a number of important changes, the most substantial of which would allow for universal recognition of non-resident carry permits. Universal recognition is the simple process of changing Kansas from the conditional recognition to the outright recognition of any valid concealed carry permit issued in other state. This change would not only benefit concealed carry permit holders in other states, but it will also make it more likely for other states to recognize Kansas’ carry permit.

Also under SB 454, new residents who held a valid concealed carry permit from their previous state of residence would be able to instantly apply for a Kansas permit while also being granted a temporary permit while their application is being considered and processed. Once a new resident moves to Kansas, they would be able to submit an application and receive a “180-day receipt,” which would allow them to continue to carry on their old permit for 180 days, during which time they can comply with the requirements for receiving a Kansas license. The Attorney General would also be able to create a list of states which meet or exceed Kansas’ requirements and that would automatically qualify for recognition for issuance of a Kansas permit.

Please contact members of the Federal and State Affairs Committee and respectfully urge them to support this commonsense bill. 

Senators of the Federal and State Affairs Committee:

Senator Pete Brungardt (R-24). Chairman
Phone
: 785-296-7390
Email: Pete.Brungardt@senate.ks.gov

Senator Roger Reitz (R-22)
Phone
: 785-296-7360
Email: Roger.Reitz@senate.ks.gov

Senator Oletha Faust-Godeau (D-29)

Phone: 785-296-7387
Email:Oletha.Faust-Goudeau@senate.ks.gov

Senator Steve Abrams (R-32)
Phone:
785-296-7381
Email:Steve.Abrams@senate.ks.gov

Senator David Haley (D-4)
Phone
: 785-296-7376
Email:David.Haley@senate.ks.gov

Senator Jeff Longbine (R-17)
Phone
: 785-296-7384
Email:Jeff.Longbine@senate.ks.gov

Senator Steve Morris (R-39)
Phone
: 785-296-2419
Email:Steve.Morris@senate.ks.gov

Senator Ralph Ostmeyer (R-40)
Phone
: 785-296-7399
Email:Ralph.Ostmeyer@senate.ks.gov

Senator Tim Owens (R-8)
Phone
: 785-296-7353
Email:Tim.Owens@senate.ks.gov

Print
Email
Share