Washington: Two Pro-Gun Bills Could be Heard in House Committee on Monday

Posted on January 26, 2012

Print
Email
Share

Please contact members of the state House Judiciary Committee TODAY! 

House Bill 1508, a shooting range protection bill, and House Bill 2471, a background check reform bill, are scheduled for an executive session and could be voted on by the House Judiciary Committee this Monday, January 30, at 1:30 p.m. in Hearing Room A of the John L. O’Brien Building in Olympia. 

House Bill 1508 is a vital shooting range protection bill, introduced by state Representatives Dean Takko (D-19), Tim Probst (D-17) and Kevin Van De Wege (D-24).  Shooting ranges are critical to competitive and recreational shooters, hunters, law enforcement, and individuals who just want to practice for self-defense.  Shooting ranges should be both accessible and affordable for everyone.  However, expanding populations and development are encroaching on shooting ranges and threatening their existence. 

Forty-eight states have recognized the importance of protecting shooting ranges and have passed similar legislation.  Hawaii and Washington are the only two states without a range protection law.  Furthermore, there are currently several shooting ranges in Washington that are facing legal battles and burdensome regulations, which if not addressed, could result in their closure. 

House Bill 1508 is narrowly focused on noise issues and would do the following: 

  1. ensure that existing ranges are protected against civil liability and criminal charges  related to noise pollution (but would not tie the hands of local government to regulate future ranges, nor unsafe ranges); and

  2. benefit the public by providing gun owners with a safe place to shoot.

House Bill 2471, sponsored by seven state Representatives, would exempt CPL holders, whose licenses were issued on or after July 22, 2011, from having to undergo any sort of background check when purchasing a pistol.  Additionally, this bill would require only the FBI’s National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) check for CPL holders whose permits were issued prior to July 22, 2011. 

If your state Representative is a member of the House Judiciary Committee, his or her “YES” vote will be instrumental in ensuring the passage of HB 1508 and HB 2471.  Please call AND e-mail your state Representative TODAY and respectfully urge him or her to support HB 1508 and HB 2471.  To determine who your state Representative is, please click here.  You can also leave your state Representative a short message on the toll-free hotline at (800) 562-6000.   

Contact information for members of the House Judiciary Committee is provided for you below: 

Representative Jamie Pedersen (D-43), Chairman
(360) 786-7826
jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Roger E. Goodman (D-45), Vice Chairman
(360) 786-7878
roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Bruce Chandler (R-15)
(360) 786-7960
bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Deborah H. Eddy (D-48)
(360) 786-7848
deborah.eddy@leg.wa.gov
 
Representative Drew Hansen (D-23)
(360) 786-7842
drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)
(360) 786-7996
steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)
(360) 786-7882
brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)
(360) 786-7828
terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)
(360) 786-7834
tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ann Rivers (R-18)
(360) 786-7850
ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)
(360) 786-7950
maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)
(360) 786-7852
jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov
 

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)
(360) 786-7984
matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

Print
Email
Share