Legislation to Require Mandatory Firearm Storage Proposed in Vermont

Posted on February 17, 2011

Print
Email
Share

Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee today

Sponsored by state Representative Waite-Simpson (D-Essex), House Bill 83 would undermine a citizen’s right to self-defense by imposing onerous storage requirements on Vermont gun owners, rendering firearms useless in self-defense situations.  H. 83 would require households with children to store their firearms unloaded with an installed trigger lock and in a locked container.

H. 83 has been introduced and assigned to the House Judiciary Committee.  No hearing date has been set, but please continue to monitor www.nraila.org for more updates.

Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and urge them to oppose H. 83.  You may leave a message for members of this committee by calling the Sergeant at Arms’ office at (802) 828-2228.  Additional contact information can be found below.

House Committee on Judiciary

Representative William Lippert (D-Chittenden-1-1) Chairman
wlippert@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Maxine Grad (D-Washington-2) Vice Chairman
mgrad@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Thomas Koch (R/D-Washington-4) Ranking Member
tkoch@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Andrew Donaghy (R-Rutland-1-1)
adonaghy@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Eldred French (D-Rutland-3)
efrench@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Patricia Komline (R-Bennington-Rutland-1)
pkomline@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Richard Marek (D-Windham-6)
rmarek@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Cynthia Martin (D/W-Windsor-1-2)
cmartin@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Gerald Reis (R-Caledonia-3)
greis@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Linda Waite-Simpson (D-Chittenden-6-2)
lwaitesimpson@leg.state.vt.us

Representative Susan Wizowaty (D-Chittenden-3-5) Clerk
swizowaty@leg.state.vt.us 

Print
Email
Share