Arkansas House Passes Bill Permitting Right-to-Carry in Churches

Posted on February 13, 2009

Print
Email
Share

On Thursday February 11, House Bill 1237, authored by pro-gun State Representative Beverly Pyle (R-83), passed through the Arkansas House by a vote of 57 to 42 and was assigned to the Senate Judiciary Committee. 

HB 1237 would permit churches to decide for themselves whether they will allow Right-to-Carry permit holders to carry their firearms when attending church.  Currently, state law singles out churches as the only private property where firearms are prohibited. 

Please contact the members of the Senate Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to support this important piece of legislation. Committee members can be contacted through the email addresses listed below or via phone at (501) 682-2902.

State Senator Ed Wilkinson (D-6), Chairman

State Senator Ruth Whitaker (R-3), Vice Chair
whitakerr@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Senator Hank Wilkins, IV (D-5)
hwilkins@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Senator Jim Luker (D-17)
lukerj@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Senator Sue Madison (D-7)
madisons@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Senator Jerry Taylor (D-23)
taylorj@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Senator Robert Thompson (D-11)
thompsonr@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Senator David Johnson (D-32)
johnsond@arkleg.state.ar.us

Print
Email
Share