Louisiana: Senate Committee Passes Legislation Expanding Hunting with Suppressors

Posted on March 24, 2014

Print
Email
Share

Last week, the Senate Natural Resources Committee unanimously approved Senate Bill 212.  Sponsored by state Senator Rick Ward (R-Port Allen), NRA-backed SB 212 would allow the use of firearm sound suppressors while hunting wild quadrupeds.  In 2011, the Louisiana Legislature legalized the use of lawfully-owned suppressors for hunting non-game nuisance quadrupeds.  Now, it's time for Louisiana to join the majority of other states which allow the use of these devices for hunting game animals.  The use of a suppressor will help to prevent hearing loss and mitigate noise complaints for both experienced and novice hunters.

This measure now goes to the Louisiana Senate floor for a vote.  Please contact your state Senator and respectfully urge him or her to SUPPORT Senate Bill 212.  E-mail addresses for your state Senator can be found here.  You may also reach your state Senator by calling (225) 342-2040 and asking for his or her Capitol office.  You can determine your state Senator by clicking here.

The House Natural Resources and Environment Committee is scheduled to hear a similar NRA-supported House measure, House Bill 186, sponsored by state Representative Cameron Henry (R-Metairie), this Wednesday, March 26, at 9:30 a.m., in Committee Room 4 of the State Capitol.  If you are able to attend this hearing in Baton Rouge, be sure to sign a “green card” in support of the bill; it does not mean you have to actually testify.  If you cannot attend this hearing, please contact committee members below and urge them to SUPPORT House Bill 186:

 

House Natural Resources and Environment Committee:

Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma), Chairman
Larep052@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Stuart Bishop (R-Lafayette), Vice-Chairman
Bishops@legis.la.gov

 
Representative James K. Armes III (D-Leesville)
Armesj@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Robert Billiot (D-Westwego)
Billiotr@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Charles Chaney (R-Rayville)
Chaneyb@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)
Connickp@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)
Foilf@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Ray Garofalo (R-Chalmette)
Garofalor@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Larose)
Gisclairj@legis.la.gov

 
Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)
Guinnj@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Joe Harrison (R-Gray)
Harrisoj@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Ted James (D-Baton Rouge)
James.ted@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)
Joness@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)
Larep059@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Christopher Leopold (R-Belle Chasse)
Leopoldc@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)
Montoucj@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Jim Morris (R-Oil City)
Larep001@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Stephen Ortego (D-Carencro)
Ortegos@legis.la.gov

 
Representative Clay Schexnayder (R-Gonzales)
Schexnayderc@legis.la.gov

Print
Email
Share