Idaho House Offers Constitutional Amendment to Guarantee the Right to Hunt and Fish

Posted on March 16, 2012

Print
Email
Share

An important constitutional amendment guaranteeing the right to hunt and fish has been introduced in the state legislature in Boise.  The NRA has been collaborating with state House and Senate leadership to produce this much-needed constitutional amendment that would provide truly meaningful protections against anti-hunting activists who seek to ban all hunting in America.  House Joint Resolution 2 incorporates the agreed-upon language and has been assigned to the House Resources and Conservation Committee for its consideration.

Thanks to cooperation from the state legislative leadership, HJR 2 contains most of the core tenets of the NRA’s model Right to Hunt language that has been developed over the last seven years.  For instance, HJR 2, introduced by the House Ways and Means Committee, would guarantee the rights of Idahoans to hunt, fish, and harvest wildlife “by the use of traditional methods.”  This would eliminate any opportunities for well-funded animal rights activists to ban the use of certain methods like archery tackle or dogs for hunting.  In other jurisdictions, these groups have sought to ban these “cruel” and “unsporting” methods and HJR 2 will help to ensure they do not succeed in Idaho.

In addition, HJR 2 specifies that hunting, fishing and harvesting of wildlife shall be used as a preferred means of managing and controlling wildlife. This provision would ensure that sportsmen will continue to be used as the state’s responsible game managers instead of the taxpayer-funded sharpshooters and unproven, expensive wildlife contraception schemes employed in other jurisdictions.

Please contact members of the House Resources and Conservation Committee and respectfully urge them to support HJR 2.  To find their contact information please click here.

Special Thanks is extended to Senator Lee Heider (R-24), House Speaker Lawrence Denney (R-9), House Majority Leader Mike Moyle (R-14) and Representative Judy Boyle (R-9) for their leadership on this critically important issue.

Members of the House Resources and Conservation Committee:

Representative John A. Stevenson (R-26)
Email: jstevenson@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332 1174

Representative Paul E. Shepherd (R-8)
Email: pshepherd@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1067

Representative JoAn E. Wood (R-35)
Email: jwood@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1179

Representative Lenore Hardy Barrett (R-35)
Email: lbarrett@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1180

Representative Mike Moyle (R-14)
Email: mmoyle@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1120

Representative George E. Eskridge (R-1)
Email: geskridge@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1185

Representative Dell Raybould (R-34)
Email: draybould@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1173

Representative Scott Bedke (R-27)
Email: sbedke@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1120

Representative Ken Andrus (R-29)
Email: kandrus@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1046

Representative Fred Wood (R-27)
Email: fwood@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1074

Representative Judy Boyle (R-9)
Email: jboyle@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1064

Representative Marv Hagedorn (R-20)
Email: mhagedorn@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1041

Representative R. J. Harwood (R-2)
Email: rharwood@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1070

Representative John Vander Woude (R-21)
Email: jvanderwoude@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1037

Representative Marc Gibbs (R-31)
Email: mgibbs@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332- 1042

Representative Donna Pence (D-25)
Email: dpence@house.idaho.gov

Representative Elfreda Higgins (D-16)
Email: ehiggins@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1130

Representative Roy Lacey (D-30)
Email: rlacey@house.idaho.gov
Phone: (208) 332-1038

Print
Email
Share