Iowa Legislature Moving Forward with Important Pro-Gun and Pro-Hunting Legislation

Posted on January 25, 2012

Print
Email
Share

Yesterday, the state House Public Safety Subcommittee passed HF 573 by a 2 to 1 vote.  This important “stand your ground” self-defense legislation will now be heard by the full House Public Safety Committee as early as tomorrow.  State Representatives Clel Baulder (R-58) and Matt Windschitl (R-56) voted to pass HF 573, while Representative Rick Olson (D-68) voted against it.  Please call AND e-mail members of the House Public Safety Committee TODAY and urge them to support this important self-defense bill.  Contact information for this committee can be found below. 

House File 573 would remove a person’s “duty to retreat” from an attacker, allowing law-abiding citizens to stand their ground and protect themselves or their family anywhere they are lawfully present.  It would create a presumption that an individual who unlawfully or forcefully enters your dwelling, place of business or employment, or occupied vehicle is there to cause serious bodily injury or death, so the occupant may use force, including deadly force, against that person.  HF 573 also would expressly allow an individual to use force, including deadly force, to prevent a violent felony, and it would enhance the protections against criminal prosecution and civil lawsuits when justifiable force is used.   

Also yesterday, Senate Joint Resolution 2001 passed in the state Senate Natural Resources and Environment Committee by a 9 to 3 vote.  State Senators Dennis Black (D-21), Dick Dearden (D-34), Joni Ernst (R-48), James Hahn (R-40), Shawn Hamerlinck (R-42), Tom Hancock (D-16), Tim Kapucian (R-20), Brian Schoejahn (D-12) and Kent Sorenson (R-37) voted to pass SJR 2001, while Senators Robert Hogg (D-19), Amanda Ragan (D-7) and Joe Seng (D-43) voted against it.  This resolution will now be brought before the state Senate for its consideration and a vote.  A date has not yet been set, but we will send an e-mail alert informing you of this information as soon as it is available.   

In the meantime, House Joint Resolution 2001, House companion of SJR 2001, is expected to be voted on tomorrow in the state House Natural Resources Committee.  SJR 2001 and HJR 2001 would rescind the Iowa Natural Resources Commission’s unnecessary regulation banning the use of traditional ammunition for dove hunting.  This hearing will take place at 3:00 p.m. in House room 19 in the Capitol.  Please contact members this committee TODAY and respectfully ask for their support for HJR 2001 and protect the use traditional ammunition for hunting.  Contact information for the state House Natural Resources Committee can be found here

For more information about the use of traditional (lead) ammunition, please click here 

Members of the House Public Safety Committee: 

Representative Clel Baudler (R-58), Chairman
clel.baudler@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Tom Shaw (R-8)
Tom.Shaw@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Bob Kressig (D-19)
bob.kressig@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Dwayne Alons (R-4)
dwayne.alons@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Mark Brandenburg (R-100)
mark.brandenburg@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Joel Fry (R-95)
joel.fry@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Chris Hagenow (R-59)
chris.hagenow@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Jarad Klein (R-89)
jarad.klein@legis.state.ia.us 
515.281.3221

Representative Dan Muhlbauer (D-51)
dan.muhlbauer@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Steven Olson (R-83)
steven.olson@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Henry Rayhons (R-11)
henry.rayhons@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Thomas Sands (R-87)
thomas.sands@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Kurt Swaim (D-94)
kurt.swaim@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative David Tjepkes (R-50)
david.tjepkes@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Matt Windschitl (R-56)
Matt.windschitl@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Mary Wolfe (D-26)
Mary.wolfe@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Gary Worthan (R-52)
gary.worthan@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

 

Print
Email
Share