Arizona: House Committee Hearing Scheduled for Pro-Hunting Legislation

Posted on February 3, 2012

Print
Email
Share

Please Contact Committee Members TODAY
and Respectfully Urge Them to Support HB 2728!

Arizona House Bill 2728, NRA-backed pro-hunting legislation introduced earlier this week by state Representative David Gowan (R-30), is scheduled to be heard by the House Committee on Military Affairs and Public Safety on Wednesday, February 8th.  Enactment of HB 2728 would allow hunters in Arizona to use lawfully-possessed suppressors (also referred to as silencers) on firearms for hunting.  This bill needs your support!  Please contact committee members and request their support of this pro-hunting legislation.

In order to acquire a suppressor, a purchaser must submit the appropriate paperwork to the federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives where long wait times for approval are unfortunately common (four to six months), undergo a background check by the FBI, find a licensed dealer authorized to conduct the transaction and pay a one-time $200 tax for each device.  While suppressors do not eliminate the sound of a firearm, they do reduce the muzzle report in a manner similar to the way that a muffler reduces exhaust noise from a vehicle.  The benefits associated with suppressor use include increased accuracy due to reduced recoil and muzzle blast, protection from hearing damage and reduced noise pollution. 

Noise complaints are being used more frequently as an excuse to close shooting ranges, informal shooting areas, and hunting lands throughout the country.  Increased use of suppressors will help to eliminate many of these complaints and protect hunting and shooting areas well into the future.  For more information on firearms and suppressors, click here.

Currently, more than half of the states allow hunters to use suppressors while hunting.  It’s time that hunters in Arizona enjoy these same opportunities available to residents in more than half of the country.  Your NRA will continue working to legalize suppressors while hunting, and will keep you updated on HB 2728.

It is important that you call AND e-mail House Military Affairs and Public Safety Committee members TODAY and respectfully urge them to support HB 2728

House Military Affairs and Public Safety Committee:

David Gowan (R-30), Chairman
(602) 926-3312
dgowan@azleg.gov

Terri Proud (R-26), Vice Chairman
(602) 926-3398
tproud@azleg.gov

Jeff Dial (R-20)
(602) 926-5550
jdial@azleg.gov

Ruben Gallego (D-16)
(602) 926-3042
rgallego@azleg.gov

Albert Hale (D-2)
(602) 926-4323
ahale@azleg.gov

Jack W. Harper (R-4)
(602) 926-4178
jharper@azleg.gov

Richard Miranda (D-13)
(602) 926-5911
rmiranda@azleg.gov

David Burnell Smith (R-7)
(602) 926-4916
dsmith@azleg.gov

David W. Stevens (R-25)
(602) 926-4321
dstevens@azleg.gov

Print
Email
Share