Iowa: Public Hearing this Wednesday for the Mourning Dove Hunting Proposal!

Posted on May 9, 2011

Print
Email
Share
On Wednesday, May 11 at 2 p.m., the Administrative Rules Review Committee is scheduled to discuss the proposed rules for the mourning dove hunting season.  This is the first step in the process of legislative approval of the rules proposed by the Natural Resources Commission.  Do not let the anti-hunting forces inject their politics and emotion into the formulation of the mourning dove hunting season.  It is important that we make our voices heard and ensure that science drives the process of establishing the mourning dove hunting season.

Under the rules currently proposed by the Natural Resources Commission, the season would begin on September 1 and last for 70 days.  There would be a daily bag limit of 15 birds, with a possession limit of 30 mourning doves. This season does not include the Eurasian collard doves or white wing doves.

There is speculation that opponents to the dove hunting season are pushing for a lead shot ban in an attempt to block the season from happening while furthering their anti-hunting goals.  We cannot let this happen.

Please contact members of the Administrative Rules Review Committee and respectfully ask them to support the creation of the best possible mourning dove season based on science and oppose any attempts to implement a lead shot ban. 

Senate Members:

Merlin Bartz (R-6)
641-748-2724
merlin.bartz@legis.state.ia.us 

Thomas Courtney (D-44)
319-753-2684
thomas.courtney@legis.state.ia.us

Wally Horn (D-17)
319-396-3131
wally.horn@legis.state.ia.us

Jack Kibbie (D-4)
712-852-4140
john.kibbie@legis.state.ia.us

James Seymour (R-28)
712-647-2699
james.seymour@legis.state.ia.us

House Members:

Dawn Pettengill (R-39)
319-475-2276
dawn.pettengill@legis.state.ia.us

David Heaton (R-91)
dave.heaton@legis.state.ia.us
515-281-3221

Rick Olson (D-68)
515-281-3221
rick.olson@legis.state.ia.us

Janet Petersen (D-64)
515-279-9063
janet.petersen@legis.state.ia.us

Linda Upmeyer (R-12)
linda.upmeyer@legis.state.ia.us
515-281-3221 

Print
Email
Share