State Attorneys General

A Communication from the Chief Legal Officers of the Following States and Territories:

Alabama * Alaska * Arizona * Arkansas * Georgia * Guam * Idaho * Kansas * Kentucky Louisiana * Maine * Michigan * Mississippi * Missouri * Montana * Nebraska New Mexico * North Dakota * Ohio * South Dakota * Utah * West Virginia * Wyoming

April 25, 2012

Dear Congressmen Stearns and Shuler:

Thank you for sponsoring H.R. 822 (National Right-to-Carry Reciprocity Act) in the 112th Congress. As you know, this legislation – which has 245 cosponsors – enhances the right to self-defense by enabling millions of concealed carry license or permit holders to exercise their right to personal protection while traveling outside their home states.

While some have suggested this legislation would endanger public safety, our experience suggests the opposite. Individuals with concealed carry permits from our states have proven to be more law-abiding than non-licensees, and in many instances have been able to defend themselves and others effectively from criminal attack. Many of our states also have laws recognizing out-of-state permits, and people carrying concealed handguns under those laws have done so without any unusual problems. Finally, our law enforcement agencies have been able to authenticate out-of-state permits promptly, when needed.

We are pleased that the U.S. House of Representatives passed H.R. 822 by a 272-154 vote on November 16, 2011 and therefore urge the U.S. Senate to pass it as well.

Dustin McDaniel

Arkansas Attorney General

Bill Schuette

Michigan Attorney General

Luther Strange

Alabama Attorney General

Tom Horne

Arizona Attorney General

William J. Schneider

Chris Koster

Missouri Attorney General

Michael Geraghty

Alaska Attorney General

Sam Olens

Georgia Attorney General

Lenny Rapadas Guam Attorney General Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General James "Buddy" Caldwell Louisiana Attorney General Steve Bullock Montana Attorney General Gary King New Mexico Attorney General Mike Dewine Ohio Attorney General Mark Shurtleff Utah Attorney General	Lawrence Wasden Idaho Attorney General Jack Conway Kentucky Attorney General Jim Hood Mississippi Attorney General Jon Bruning Nebraska Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem North Dakota Attorney General Marty J. Jackley South Dakota Attorney General January January January Marty J. Jackley South Dakota Attorney General January Marty J. Jackley South Dakota Attorney General January Marty J. Jackley South Dakota Attorney General
	Darrell V. McGraw, JR.
Wyoming Attorney General	