It is unlawful for a person without a concealed handgun license to carry a handgun concealed on his or her person. Exempt from this prohibition are officers, agents, and employees of a state agency or the federal government or law enforcement officers authorized and acting in the scope of their employment. State law does not prohibit the open carrying of firearms except in certain locations, but a person should exercise caution when carrying a firearm in public. READ ALL
Application to carry a concealed handgun is made to the local sheriff on a form prescribed by the Ohio Peace Officers Training Commission. Along with the application, the applicant must provide a color photograph taken within the last 30 days, a set of fingerprints and certification of competency with a firearm. An applicant must be 21, a resident of Ohio for 45 days, and a resident of the issuing county (or an adjacent county) for 30 days. The application fee minimum is $67 depending on the extent of the background check. All concealed handgun licenses issued on or after March 14, 2007 are valid for 5 years. If an applicant is denied, the sheriff shall provide the reasons for such a denial. The applicant may appeal such a denial. The renewal process for an expired permit is the same as that for an original, except that the applicant may demonstrate competency within the last 6 years or submit evidence of a renewed competency certification. A licensee must provide notice of a change of address. A licensee who wishes to renew a license may do so no earlier than 90 days before expiration date on the license or no later than 30 days after the scheduled expiration date.
A temporary emergency license to carry can be issued under extraordinary circumstances if a sheriff determines that a person, not prohibited from obtaining a license, has provided evidence that he is in imminent danger. The temporary emergency license lasts for 90 days and may be renewed only once every four years.
The following categories of individuals are ineligible to obtain a concealed handgun license:
• Fugitives from justice.
• Those under indictment for or convicted of a felony.
• Those under indictment for or convicted of a crime involving drugs.
• Those who within the preceding 3 years have been convicted of a crime of violence or a misdemeanor of crime of violence.
• Those who within the preceding 5 years have been convicted of assault or aggravated assault.
• Those who within the preceding 10 years have been convicted of resisting arrest, or convicted of interfering with the lawful arrest of another person.
• Those who have not been adjudicated mentally defective or has been committed to any mental institution.
• Those subject to a civil protection order or a temporary civil protection order issued by the court of any state.
First time applicants must provide proof of training, completed within the last 3 years, by submitting an original or photocopy of a certificate of completion of a training course. The applicant must attest that he has reviewed the pamphlet prepared by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission that reviews firearms, dispute resolution and the use of deadly force. An approved training program shall include the following:
• The course must be open to the general public.
• Must utilize qualified instructors who were certified by the National Rifle Association or the Executive Director of the Peace Officer Training commission.
• Any course offered by a law enforcement agency.
• A course offered by a university, a public or private college in this or another state.
• A firearms training school course offered in this or another state.
• Any state, county, municipal or Department of Natural Resources course approved by the Executive Director of the Ohio Peace officer training commission.
An applicant alternatively can show competency by providing documentation that shows the applicant is an active member of the military reserve, armed forces or has been honorably discharged, is a retired law enforcement officer or otherwise provides evidence of satisfactory completion of firearms training not otherwise described above and was conducted by an instructor trained by the NRA, any government official or entity of this state or another, or the United States government.
A training course must consist of a minimum 12 hours, with 10 hours dedicated to safe handling, storage and firing of a handgun, and a written exam. Additionally, 2 hours of each course must be dedicated to live-fire training.
Concealed carry of a handgun by a licensee is prohibited in the following public areas:
• Public schools.
• Police, sheriff or state highway patrol stations.
• Correctional facilities, jails or any premises controlled by Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation.
• Airport passenger terminals or any airplanes.
• Any rooms or open-air arenas licensed to serve alcohol for on premises consumption (an exception exists if the possesor is not under the influence of drugs or alcohol and does not consume any alcohol on the premisis, although owners may still prohibit possession on their premisis by posting no-gun signs).
• Premises owned or leased by a public or private college, university or other institution of higher learning.
• Any place of worship (unless they have elected to allow firearms).
• A child day-care center.
• A family day-care home.
• Any building owned or leased by a state government entity or a political subdivision of the state.
• Any location prohibited by federal law.
The owner or person in control of private land or premises, and a private person or entity leasing land or premises owned by a public entity, may post a sign in a conspicuous location on that land or premises prohibiting persons from carrying firearms or concealed firearms on that property. A person who violates this prohibition is guilty of criminal trespass.
A person who has been issued a concealed handgun license or a temporary emergency license to carry a concealed handgun may transport a loaded handgun in a motor vehicle at their discretion, but must exercise caution regarding access to the firearm (i.e. if their are children in the car and the firearm can be accessed by them, a case of child endagerment may exist).
Motorcycles fall under the definition of motor vehicles so the same requirements apply.
A firearm in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle is considered loaded if its magazine is loaded or a loaded magazine is ready at hand. Muzzleloading weapons are considered unloaded if the percussion cap or priming powder in the pan is removed.
It is unlawful for a person not issued a concealed handgun license or a temporary emergency license to have a firearm in a motor vehicle unless it is unloaded and carried in one of the following ways:
• In a closed case, box, or package.
• Secured in a rack in plain sight.
• In a compartment that can be reached only by leaving the vehicle.
• For long guns, in plain sight, with the action open or the weapon stripped, or if the firearm’s action will not stay open or it cannot be easily stripped, in plain sight.
If a licensee is transporting a loaded concealed firearm and is stopped by a law enforcement officer, he must keep his hands in plain sight, notify the officer that he has a concealed firearm and a license to carry a concealed firearm, and follow all specific instructions issued by the officer.
It is unlawful to possess a firearm in any room in which liquor is being dispensed pursuant to a liquor license. This prohibition does not apply to a police officer, or to any room used for the accommodation of guests of a hotel, or the possession of an unloaded rifle by a veterans’ organization, or possessing or displaying unloaded firearms in a soldiers’ memorial or in a convention center or other public meeting place by an exhibitor, trader, purchaser, or seller.HIDE