It is unlawful to carry a handgun or concealable firearm, openly or concealed, on or about one’s person without a license to carry. READ ALL
Exceptions: No license is required:
1. To carry a firearm, openly or concealed, in one’s home or place of business.
2. To transport a firearm, unloaded, enclosed in a case and separated from ammunition, provided the possessor is not ineligible to obtain a license to carry.
3. To transport a loaded firearm in a private motor vehicle, provided it is carried in an open manner fully exposed to view, or is in the vehicle’s glove compartment, console, or similar compartment.
4. To carry a firearm while hunting or fishing or sport shooting, provided the person so carrying has any necessary hunting or fishing license, and has written permission from the owner of the land on which the activity is being conducted, and provided any handgun is carried in an open and fully exposed manner.
A license to carry authorizes a person to carry a handgun on or about his person, openly or in certain enumerated concealed positions limited to: a shoulder holster, waist belt holster, any other holster, hipgrip or similar device, in which event the weapon may be concealed by the person’s clothing, or a handbag, purse, attache case, briefcase, other closed container, or in any location in a motor vehicle. “Carrying on the person in a concealed manner other than as provided herein shall. . . be a violation.”
The license to carry, valid for five years, is obtained by application under oath to the judge of the probate court of the county of domicile of the applicant. A $30.00 fee is payable upon application. Georgia law specifically provides that the application form “shall not require non-pertinent nor irrelevant data” from the applicant “such as serial numbers or other identification capable of being used as a de facto registration of firearms owned by the applicant.”
No license will be issued to:
1. Anyone under 21 years of age.
2. Any person who is a fugitive from justice or who has felony charges, forcible misdemeanor or weapons violations charges pending against him.
3. Any person convicted of a felony who has not been pardoned by the President, the States Board of Pardons and Paroles, or any person or agency empowered to grant pardons.
4. Any person convicted of forcible misdemeanor who has not been free of supervision for at least five years.
5. Any person convicted of a weapons carrying violation, who has not been free of supervision for at least three years.
6. Any person who has been hospitalized for in patient treatment in any mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within five years of the date of application.
7. Any person who has been convicted of a controlled substance or other dangerous drug offense.
After the judge has received the application the applicant must go to a designated local law enforcement agency for fingerprinting. The law enforcement agency may charge a $5.00 fingerprinting fee. The Georgia Bureau of Investigation may charge a fee to cover the costs of the criminal records search. The law enforcement agency must investigate the applicant (including a federal and state criminal record check) and must report any negative findings back to the judge within 30 days. A report is not required if no derogatory information bearing on the applicant’s eligibility is discovered. The judge shall issue the license not later than 10 days after the judge receives the report of the application if no facts establishing ineligibility are found and the judge determines the applicant has met all qualifications and is of “good moral character.” If the applicant has been hospitalized at a mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within 5 years of his application for a license to carry, the judge has discretion, after considering the recommendation of the Superintendent of the hospital or treatment center, to issue or deny the license. The applicant shall pay a fee of $3 to reimburse costs associated with obtaining a report.
If the applicant has been hospitalized at a mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within 5 years of his application for a license to carry, the judge has discretion, after considering the recommendation of the Superintendent of the hospital or treatment center, to issue or deny the license.
A person licensed to carry a handgun in any state whose laws recognize and give effect within such state to a license issued pursuant to Georgia law shall be authorized to carry a handgun in this state, but only while the licensee is not a resident of this state; provided, however, that such license holder shall carry the handgun in compliance with the laws of this state.HIDE