Nebraska: Critical Castle Doctrine Bill Heard in Committee

Posted on January 26, 2012


Contact Members of the Judiciary Committee and Urge Them to Support LB 804 

Yesterday, Legislative Bill 804 was heard by the Judiciary Committee.  Favorable testimony was given by representatives of the NRA, as well as the NRA's state association and concerned citizens who see the absolute need for this important legislation. 

LB 804, introduced by state Senator Scott Lautenbaugh (18), is critical for law-abiding citizens in the Cornhusker State.  Current Nebraska law places the burden of proof on the homeowner when confronting an intruder and hinders your ability to decide when you can use deadly force to protect yourself and your family.  This bill would create a presumption in the favor of a person who uses force against an intruder who has, or is attempting to, unlawfully and forcibly enter a dwelling or occupied vehicle.  In such cases, deadly force would be presumed to be necessary for defense of those within the premises.    

Opponents are trying to paint this legislation as a loophole for criminals to commit lethal acts of violence.  Such a claim could not be any further from the truth.  Under current law, a person who uses force in self-defense has to come forward with evidence justifying his or her actions and is subject to an after-the-fact determination of the necessity and reasonability of the forced used.  LB 804 would shift the risk of burglaries and car-jackings away from innocent homeowners and motorists forced to defend themselves and place it where it belongs: on the perpetrators of criminal offenses.  

The NRA will continue to work with members of the Judiciary Committee on LB 804, but we need your help.  Please contact members of the Judiciary Committee today and respectfully urge them to support LB 804.  Contact information can be found below. 

Judiciary Committee: 

Senator Brad Ashford (20), Chairman
(402) 471-2622
Senator Colby Coash (27)
(402) 471-2632
Senator Brenda Council (11)
(402) 471-2612
Senator Burke J. Harr (8)
(402) 471-2722
Senator Tyson Larson (40)
(402) 471-2801
Senator Steve Lathrop (12)
(402) 471-2623
Senator Scott Lautenbaugh (18)
(402) 471-2618
Senator Amanda McGill (26)
(402) 471-2610