Washington: NRA-Supported House Bill to be Heard Tomorrow

Posted on January 24, 2012

Print
Email
Share

Please contact the House Judiciary Committee Today! 

Tomorrow, January 25, the state House Judiciary Committee will hear an NRA-supported bill: House Bill 2471 would reform the background check requirements for firearm purchases by CPL holders. HB 2471 will be heard tomorrow at 8:00 a.m. in Hearing Room A of the John L. O’Brien Building in Olympia. 

House Bill 2471, sponsored by seven state Representatives, would exempt CPL holders, whose licenses were issued on or after July 22, 2011, from having to undergo any sort of background check when purchasing a pistol. Additionally, this bill would require only the FBI’s National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) check for CPL holders whose permits were issued prior to July 22, 2011. 

Please e-mail and call members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to support HB 2471.  Also, please leave a short message for your state Representative on the toll-free legislative hotline at 1-800-562-6000, and request their support. To determine who your state Representative is, please click here. The contact information for the House Judiciary Committee has been provided for you below:  

Representative Jamie Pedersen (D-43), Chair 
(360) 786-7826
jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Roger E. Goodman (D-45), Vice Chair
(360) 786-7878
roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bruce Chandler (R-15)
(360) 786-7960
bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov

Representative Deborah H. Eddy (D-48)
(360) 786-7848
deborah.eddy@leg.wa.gov

Representative Drew Hansen (D-23)
(360) 786-7842
drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)
(360) 786-7996
steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)
(360) 786-7882
brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)
(360) 786-7828
terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)
(360) 786-7834
tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ann Rivers (R-18)
(360) 786-7850
ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)
(360) 786-7950
maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)
(360) 786-7852
jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)
(360) 786-7984
matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

Print
Email
Share