NRA-Backed Pro-Hunting Legislation Introduced in the Georgia Senate

Posted on January 12, 2012

Print
Email
Share

Please contact members of the Senate Natural Resources and the Environment Committee Today!

On Tuesday, NRA-backed Senate Bill 301 introduced by state Senator John Bulloch (R-11), was referred to the state Senate Committee on Natural Resources and the Environment.

SB 301 would allow Georgians to use lawfully-possessed silencers (also referred to as suppressors) on firearms for hunting.

While silencers/suppressors do not eliminate the sound of a firearm, they do reduce the muzzle report of a firearm much in the same way that a muffler reduces exhaust noise from a car or truck.  There are many benefits to silencers/suppressors: (1) they increase accuracy, (2) make shooting more enjoyable by lessening felt recoil and reducing muzzle blast, (3) protect shooters’ hearing and (4) help reduce noise pollution.

Noise complaints are causing closures of shooting ranges, informal shooting areas and hunting lands throughout the country. Increased use of suppressors on shooting ranges and hunting lands will decrease these detrimental complaints.

While a committee hearing has not yet been scheduled for SB 301, please call AND e-mail members of the state Senate Natural Resources and the Environment Committee and respectfully urge them to SUPPORT SB 301.  Contact information can be found below.

Senate Committee on Natural Resources and the Environment

Senator Ross Tolleson (R-20), Chairman
(404) 656-0081
ross.tolleson@senate.ga.gov

Senator John Bulloch (R-11), Vice-Chairman
(404) 656-0040
john.bulloch@senate.ga.gov

Senator Bill Cowsert (R-46)
(404)463-1383
bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov

Senator Steve Henson (D-41)
(404) 656-0085
steve.henson@senate.ga.gov

Senator Jack Hill (R-4)
(404) 656-5038
jack.hill@senate.ga.gov

Senator George Hooks (D-14)
(404) 656-0065
george.hooks@senate.ga.gov

Senator Bill Jackson (R-24)
(404) 651-7738
bill.jackson@senate.ga.gov

Senator Rick Jeffares (R-17)
(404) 656-0503
rick.jeffares@senate.ga.gov

Senator Butch Miller (R-49)
(404) 656-6578
butch.miller@senate.ga.gov

Senator Freddie Powell Sims (D-12)
(404) 463-5259
Freddie.Sims@senate.ga.gov

Senator Lindsey Tippins (R-37)
(404) 657-0406
lindsey.tippins@senate.ga.gov

Print
Email
Share